A Guide To Composing And Arranging

This book is a guide to composing and arranging for for several different music ensembles as described in the title. It is not a textbook, it is simply a guide. The book begins with an explanation of how melody lines can be constructed and the mechanics of counterpoint. Intervals in music, being the building blocks of harmony are explained together with different instrument voicing possibilities. Ranges for the majority of instruments, including practical ranges are included together with voice ranges and drums and percussion notation.

The book contains twelve full scores, nine original pieces and three arrangements, all copyright protected, together with digital audio recordings available as audio files which can be downloaded. These scores can therefore be read whilst listening to the recordings. All these pieces include a basic analysis as they progress from point to point, marked by rehearsal letters.

A Last Fairwell


Lascia Ch’io Pianga


Carnival Town


Concert March No.1


Echoes of Scotland




Fantasia on The Coventry Carol


Fugue on a Jazz Theme


Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring


Nunc Dimittis


Swan Lake Sop Sax


When you’re smiling


I will shortly paste a link to my book here which can purchase on Amazon, soon so please check back soon. Thanks.